In 2009, the Portage County Board of Commissioners established a Storm Water District to assist in achieving compliance with the requirements of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (Ohio EPA) National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Phase II permit program. NPDES Phase II is an unfunded mandate that requires regulated communities to develop and implement a Storm Water Management Plan that addresses six minimum control measures for storm water quality.

Addressing the issues will require cooperation... 

Storm water runoff does not respect political boundaries, so to address it effectively the Storm Water District includes all unincorporated areas of the county. By utilizing fiscal and human resources to implement a single strategy across the entire District boundary, the District will be able to leverage each dollar paid to efficiently obtain compliance with the State requirements.

Storm Water Management Project

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Michael A. Marozzi, P.E.,P.S. Drainage Engineer (330) 296-6411
James Bierlair Soil and Water (330) 297-7633
Joe Diorio Health Department (330) 296-9919