Board of Health


There are eight members on the Board. Four members represent the County, one was appointed by the Licensing Council, and three members each represent the cities of Aurora, Ravenna and Streetsboro.

Four members representing the County are appointed by the District Advisory Council of the Portage County Township Trustees and Village Mayors. One member was appointed by the Licensing Council.

The three members representing Ravenna, Aurora and Streetsboro are appointed by their respective mayors with approval of council. A single term of each member is five years. A member may be appointed for more than one term.

The Board of Health hires the Health Commissioner who serves as Secretary to the Board and is also the Chief Executive Officer of the Health District.

The number of employees necessary to perform all functions are hired by the Board upon the recommendations of the Health Commissioner.

The Board of Health meets on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at the Portage County Health District main conference room located at 705 Oakwood Street, Ravenna, Ohio 44266.

Six Functions of a Board


County Health Districts were formed in 1919 by the Hughs-Griswold Act of the Ohio Legislature. Portage County Health District became an official reality on January 1, 1920.

Board Members

Name Title
Robert Howard President
Evelyn Cutlip Vice President
Amy Hammar Member
Charles Delaney Member
James Bierlair Member
Dr. Howard Minott Member (Aurora City)
Lucy Ribelin Member (Ravenna City)
Megan Frank Member (Streetsboro City)