Portage County Solid Waste Management
District Recycling Center
3588 Mogadore Road, Kent, Ohio 44240
(330) 678-8808
Home › News



The Portage County Solid Waste Management District Office will be closed on Thursday, November 27th and Friday November 28th, 2014 in observance of Thanksgiving.

Curbside recycling will be picked up as follows:

Thursday pick up moved to Friday
Friday pick up moved to Saturday

The meeting with the Ohio EPA about the Solid Waste Plan scheduled for Friday November 14, 2014 at 1:30 PM has been cancelled.

When the meeting is rescheduled, the District will post it on our website.


 The Portage County Solid Waste Policy Committee/Ohio EPA meetings scheduled for Friday, November 14, 2014 at 10:30 AM and 1:30 PM have been postponed to a date yet to be determined.

Portage County SWMP Update Strategy Session Summary

Portage County SWMD Plan Q & A

Fact Sheet - Curbside Recycling | Fact Sheet - Revenue Sources
Fact Sheet - Roles and Responsibilities
Fact Sheet - Integrated Solid Waste Management Recycling Programs

Press Release:
Beginning Friday April 4th, all curbside recycling collection will be weekly on Friday’s.  Please place your recycling out Thursday night or by 5:30am on Friday.

The Portage County Solid Waste Management District Recycling Center is currently accepting the following:

Acceptable Items for Curbside and Drop Off Locations 
Aseptic containers
Corrugated cardboard
Chipboard (shoe boxes, cereal boxes, etc)
Plastic all containers with the number 1 or 2 on them
Aluminum and metal cans

Acceptable Household Hazardous Waste Items
Used Oil
NiCad Batteries
Lead Acid Batteries
Appliances without Freon
Scrap Metal
(Computers and all components, copiers, fax machines, cell phones, etc)

Items NOT ACCEPTED at this time

Light bulbs

3-7 Plastics Recycling Program

Got Left Over Paint?  Click here to find out what to do about it.

Plug-In To eCycling Info





The Portage County Solid Waste Management District provides the residents of Portage County with collection of recyclables “at the curb” in the following communities. Please click on the Curbside Pickup link to find out what day we pick up in your community.

·        City of Aurora

·        City of Streetsboro

·        City of Kent

·        City of Ravenna

·        Mantua Village

·        Hiram Village

·        Brady Lake Village

·        Atwater Township

·        Franklin Township

·        Brimfield Township

·        Mantua Township

·        Shalersville Township

·        Ravenna Township-limited area

The District has a Mandatory Subscription contract with all communities that receive curbside service. Mandatory Subscription requires all residents of that community to pay for recycling services provided by the District. If a resident chooses not to use these services, they are still required to pay the monthly fee.

New residents are asked to contact the District to arrange for the delivery of their bins for participation in the recycling program. The bins remain the property of the District and are assigned to the address of the residence. Bins are usually delivered within 7-10 business days.