For more information, call 330-296-9919

Programs & Services

Portage County Combined General Health District*








  *Includes the cities of Aurora and Streetsboro

   Portage County Board of Health - Dedicated to Making Life Better

Portage County
Health Commissioner

DuWayne Porter


"The mission of the Portage County Combined General Health District is to protect the health, safety and well being of the citizens of the Portage County Combined General Health District, to promote health, to prevent disease, and to assure that all persons are provided a better quality of life and increased longevity".

Robert Palmer
Evelyn Cutlip
James Bierlair

Bonnie Bailey
Dr. Howard Minott
Robert Howard
Vice President
Amy Hammar
Environmental Staff Nursing Staff Administrative Staff

   Organization of Board                 


There are seven members on the Board. Four members represent the County, one is appointed by the Licensing Council, and two members each represent the cities of Aurora and Streetsboro.

Four members representing the County are appointed by the Advisory Council of the Portage County Township Trustees and Village Mayors. One member is appointed by the Licensing Council.

The two members representing Aurora and Streetsboro are appointed by their respective mayors with approval of council. A single term of each member is five years. A member may be appointed for more than one term.

The Board of Health hires the Health Commissioner who serves as Secretary to the Board and is also the Chief Administrative Officer of the Health Department.

The number of employees necessary to perform all functions are hired by the Board upon the recommendations of the Health Commissioner.

The Board of Health meets on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at the Portage County Health Department conference room located at 705 Oakwood Street, 2nd floor, room 201, Ravenna, Ohio 44266.



County Health Departments were formed in 1919 by the Hughs-Griswold Act of the Ohio Legislature. Portage County Health Department became an official reality on January 1, 1920.


Health departments are mandated by state law to protect the health and safety of all the people in their area.


DuWayne Porter, M.P.H, R. S.

Portage County
Health Commissioner

Dr. Daniel Raub, D.O.

Portage County
Medical Director

Loyd Groves, B.S., R.S., Director, Environmental Health Services

Kevin Watson, B.S., Wastewater Specialist/Supervisor
Elizabeth Ahrens, B.S., Sanitarian 2
Tom Brannon, Technician
Stan Carlisle, B.S., M.P.H., Sanitarian 2
Ken Dye, Plumbing Inspector
Richard Lashley, B.S., Sanitarian 2
Jack Madved, B.S., Sanitarian 2
Amos Sarfo, M.S., R.S., Sanitarian 2
Christopher Novelli, B.S., R.S.
Jessica Offineer, B.A., Sanitarian-in-Training
Keith Riley, P.E., Sanitarian-in-Training

Rosemary Ferraro R.N., M.S.N. Director, Nursing Services

Marianne Kitakis, B.S.N., R.N., PH Nurse 1
Sherry Halas, B.S.N., R.N., PH Nurse 1
Conni Contreras, B.A., B.S.N., R.N., PH Nurse 1
Kerry McKeen, B.S.N, R.N., BCMH Program Nurse
Mary McDaniel, Billing Clerk 1
Jennifer Day, Clerk 1
Jennifer McCoy, M.P.H., MRC Coordinator Assistant

Debra Stall, Senior Account Clerk, Director of Finance Services

Carol Pillsbury, B.A.A., Account Clerk 1
Judi Rettig, B.A., Account Clerk 1

Dorothy Filing, Administrative Secretary, Director  of Administrative Services

Melissa Akers, Clerk 1

Becky Lehman, M.P.H., Director, Health Education and Promotion

Ali Mitchell, B.S.P.H., Health Educator 1
Kat Holtz, B.S., Health Educator 1

Karen Towne, B.A., B.S.N., R.N., Public Health Accreditation Coordinator


Contact Information/Staff Directory

Back to top of page