County Commissioners Logo

Graphic with US Flag with text "United We Stand"

Portage County Flag

Elected Officials   

Follow links at left to visit pages for County Elected Officials

W3C 4.01 Validated


Elected Officials

Online Survey

Portage County wants to serve its residents in the most effective way possible. In order to improve our community, we are asking for your help in completing an online survey. As an important part of the community, we look forward to hearing your comments on community services and events. Click here to complete the brief, (5 questions) online survey.

The Ohio Constitution and County Government in Ohio



The Ohio Constitution specifies the organization of county government.

All Ohio counties, with the exception of Summit County, follow the same statutory form of government consisting of three county commissioners and one of each of the following officials: county Auditor, county Clerk of Courts, county Coroner, county Engineer. county Prosecutor, county Recorder, county Sheriff, and county Treasurer.

County officials are elected in even numbered years to four year terms with the exception of judges, who have six year terms. Common pleas, probate and county court judges are established by statute pursuant to authority granted by the Ohio Constitution. Compensation for all county elected officials is set by the Ohio General Assembly and varies with the population of the county.



Back to top of page